The Royal Jewels

Throughout history, precious stones have inspired passions, curses and treasure hunts. The name “jewel” comes from latin “to rejoice”, although they have not only been offered as a token of love, but also worn as a symbol of fame, power, and wealth.

We’ll embark on a fascinating voyage through the history of precious stones and jewels, as seen through some of the magnificent artworks that are treasured in some of the most famed Spanish Museums. From the magical properties attributed to gems in the Middle Ages to the legend about Isabella the Catholic pawning her jewels to finance Columbus’ voyage, from the exhilarating tale of a priceless pearl that ended up between the jaws of Elizabeth Taylor’s pup to the theft of the Treasure of the Dolphin, these are a few of the brilliant stories we’ll unravel…

01
Online Experiences Royal Jewels Isabel de Valois
Online Experiences Mengs, Maria Luisa of Parma, Prado Museum
05

Answers to questions like...

01
Online Experience Art Royal Jewels Isabella of Castile

Is the legend about Isabella the Catholic pawning her jewels to finance Columbus’ voyage true?

02
Hans Holbein, the Younger, Around 1497-1543_Portrait_of_Henry_VIII_of_England

Where did Henry VIII of England ever obtain such a great collection of jewels from?

03
Online Experiences Royal Jewels Elizabeth Taylor 1953

Would you like to hear the exhilarating tale of a priceless pearl that ended up between the jaws of Elizabeth Taylor’s pup?

Details & Booking

Price: APRIL 28th 25€/connection. Public event.
However, if you prefer your own private session, it starts at US$ 250 / £ 195 / 215 € / AU$ 352  – from 1 to 10 people.

Time & Date: April 28th, 10 am PST / 1 pm EST / 6 pm UK / 7 pm Spain

For private sessions, you decide on the time!
Duration: 1 hour. Please sign in to the class 10 minutes before start time

What’s included: Session on zoom by a professional art historian

  • This class is held on Zoom. If you aren’t familiar with the platform, we would be delighted to send you information on how to get started and linked up!