A course of 3 x 1 hour Sessions

Sacred Art presented by Arts & the Spirit, Christ Church, Greenwich

Throughout the ages, Christian art served the twofold objective of paying homage to God whilst serving as a didactic illustration for the population. These illuminating sessions will introduce participants to how different artistic traditions from countries such as Spain, Italy and Flanders have depicted the most significant events in the Bible. Formidable traditions governed the representation of religious scenes, and yet artists of the past continually renewed them through creative engagement with established conventions. During these three non-sequential sessions, we will analyse in depth works from the 13th century to the 18th century, including paintings by Bosch, Van der Weyden, Fra Angelico, El Greco, Zurbarán and Velázquez.

01
Art from Prado Museum Madrid Spain Adam and Eve Peter Paul Rubens
Sacred Art in Spain Fra Angelico The Annunciation
05

WHAT TO EXPECT

01

Session 1: The Creation, JANUARY 7th, 2021

Was it really an apple?
What did the Garden of Eden look like?
Is the blame always on Eve?

02

Session 2: The Nativity, FEBRUARY 4th, 2021

Do Luke and Matthew tell the same story?
Why is baby Jesus fully dressed in Medieval images, whilst he is naked in Renaissance art?
We usually believe that the Magi were three, but could we be wrong?
And what about the colour of angels?

03

Session 3: The Passion of Jesus Christ, MARCH 4th, 2021

Why was the formidable Disrobing of Christ by El Greco rejected by the dean of the Cathedral of Toledo?
What is the role of Mary Magdalene in the Resurrection?
Why do skulls and bones often appear at the foot of the Cross?

Details & Booking

Price: €62 per connection, for all 3 sessions

Dates & Times:

7 January:  9am EST (2pm UK/3pm Spain)
4 February:  9am EST (2pm UK/3pm Spain)
4 March:  9am EST (2pm UK/3pm Spain)

Duration: Each of the three sessions are 1 hour

What’s included: Online class with Art Historian

  • NOTE: This class is held on Zoom. If you aren’t familiar with the platform, we would be delighted to send you information on how to get started and linked up!