A course of 3 x 1 hour Sessions

Sacred Art: God at the Gallery

Throughout the ages, Christian art served the twofold objective of paying homage to God whilst serving as a didactic illustration for the population. These illuminating sessions will introduce participants to how different artistic traditions from countries such as Spain, Italy and Flanders have depicted the most significant events in the Bible. Formidable traditions governed the representation of religious scenes, and yet artists of the past continually renewed them through creative engagement with established conventions. During these three non-sequential sessions, we will analyse in depth works from the 13th century to the 18th century, including paintings by Bosch, Van der Weyden, Fra Angelico, El Greco, Zurbarán and Velázquez.

01
Sacred Art in Spain Adam and Eve Albrecht Dürer Insiders Travel
Sacred Art in Spain Fra Angelico The Annunciation
Sacred Art in Spain Cristo en la Cruz Zurbarán Prado Insiders Travel
03

WHAT TO EXPECT

01

Session 1: The Creation, NOVEMBER 14th, 2020

Sacred Art in Spain Adam and Eve Albrecht Dürer Insiders Travel

Was it really an apple?
What did the Garden of Eden look like?
Is the blame always on Eve?

02

Session 2: The Nativity, NOVEMBER 28th, 2020

Sacred Art in Spain Fra Angelico The Annunciation

Do Luke and Matthew tell the same story?
Why is baby Jesus fully dressed in Medieval images, whilst he is naked in Renaissance art?
We usually believe that the Magi were three, but could we be wrong?
And what about the colour of angels?

03

Session 3: The Passion of Jesus Christ, DECEMBER 12, 2020

Sacred Art in Spain Cristo en la Cruz Zurbarán Prado Insiders Travel

Why was the formidable Disrobing of Christ by El Greco rejected by the dean of the Cathedral of Toledo?
What is the role of Mary Magdalene in the Resurrection?
Why do skulls and bones often appear at the foot of the Cross?

Details & Booking

Price: $75 USD per person, for all 3 sessions, $30 USD per person, for 1 session.

Time:  The hour changes in the UK & in Spain on the 25th of October, but changes on the 1st of November in the USA!!!

All Sacred Art Sessions will be held at 2pm East Coast Time.

14 November:  2pm Eastern Time (11am Pacific Time/7pm UK/8pm Spain)
28 November:  2pm Eastern Time (11am Pacific Time/7pm UK/8pm Spain)
12 December:  2pm Eastern Time (11am Pacific Time/7pm UK/8pm Spain)

Duration: Each of the three sessions are 1 hour

What’s included: Online class with Art Historian

  • NOTE: This class is held on Zoom. If you aren’t familiar with the platform, we would be delighted to send you information on how to get started and linked up!