Fashion in Art, Cristóbal Balenciaga

Fashion in SPanish Art, balenciaga & beyond
a Virtual session

balenciaga virtual experience

Portrait of Elena Sorolla, by her father

wearing a fortuny gown

Our award-winning art historian focuses on the creations of one of the world’s most revered couturiers, Cristóbal Balenciaga, who drew his inspiration from the great, classical tradition of Spanish painting.

Through works exhibited in the major Spanish museums, we discover magnificent brocades, eccentric shapes, austere attires, fantastic headgear and outrageous innovations. We see beautiful images of Balenciaga’s pieces side by side with the  Spanish artworks that influenced him be they by Goya, El Greco, Velázquez, Zurbarán or Zuloaga.

Also covered, Sorolla’s inspiration and Fortuny, Coco Chanel, and the fashion rules over the ages. 

“You don’t have to be a Fashion lover to enjoy this class – The beauty of Balenciaga’s clothes, combined with the beauty of the art that inspired him, was one of the most memorable presentations I have seen!”            

Nina Rumbough (Private Virtual Experience Client)

WHAT TO EXPECT

Zurburán Chanel

Zurburán & Chanel

Did you know that Coco Chanel once declared that Zurbarán, the great Spanish baroque master, was the first couturier in history?

Diego Velázquez rouge

ROUGE

Can you imagine where the rouge that Spanish ladies applied so generously, as seen in Velázquez’s portraits, came from?

maja celestina goya sleeves

forbidden Sleeves

Why did queen María Luisa, in Goya’s time, forbid that ladies wear short sleeves at court?

DETAILS & BOOKING

 Schedule: Private sessions are available any day of the week.
Time:  You decide! We recommend 12 PM PST / 3 PM EST / 8 PM  BST / 9 PM CEST if there are clients from the US & Europe at the session.
What’s included: Your hour long art session with our art historian. 

Price: Starting at 25€, per household (depending on the session). Please consult.

♥ Once you purchase your ticket, you will be sent a PDF with all the recipe & wine suggestions as well as the ZOOM LINK. 

♥ You will be sent a few reminder emails prior to the event with the PDF & ZOOM LINK.   

♥ This class is held on Zoom. If you aren’t familiar with the platform, we would be delighted to send you information on how to get started and linked up!

you might like...

HOSTED TOUR: MADRID – SAN SEBASTIAN, May 21-28, 2023

RESTAURANT TOUR, BARCELONA: LOS CARACOLES, TOUR & DINNER

HOSTED TOUR: THE PORTUGUESE CAMINO, PORTO TO SANTIAGO. Sept 23-Oct 3, 2023

PRIVATE GROUP TOUR. St. George’s Episcopal Church walks the Camino, 23 September – 2nd October 2023

DAY TOUR, SEVILLE: SECRETS OF SEVILLE: FROM TAPAS TO TAPESTRIES

DAY TOUR, SEVILLE: DAY TRIP: WHITE VILLAGES OF CADIZ

HOSTED TOUR. EASTER ON THE CAMINO, 8 DAYS, APR 6-14, 2023

DAY TOUR, BARCELONA: DAY TRIP: FIGUERES & GIRONA

DAY TOUR, BARCELONA: DAY TRIP: CADAQUES & GIRONA

DAY TOUR, BARCELONA: PICASSO MUSEUM AND THE BARCELONETA SEAFRONT